Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /home/intmktg/public_html/youreviewit.com/wp-content/plugins/buddypress/bp-core/bp-core-functions.php on line 143 and defined in /home/intmktg/public_html/youreviewit.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 992

Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /home/intmktg/public_html/youreviewit.com/wp-content/plugins/buddypress/bp-core/bp-core-functions.php on line 1008 and defined in /home/intmktg/public_html/youreviewit.com/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 992
You Review It – Where We Don't Review It, You Do! | MagicJack Plus VoIP Phone User Reviews
RSS Feed Twitter Facebook
Login | Register
 
User Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.0/5 (169 votes cast)

MagicJack Plus VoIP Phone User Reviews

The magicJack Plus is a small electronics gadget that provides its users with unlimited local and long distance calls to anyone in the United States or Canada for a cost of just $29.95 per year. It is an updated version of the aforementioned magic Jack and is very similar to its predecessor.

The magicJack Plus works just like a regular telephone line. All you have to do is hook one end of the magic Jack Plus into your phone and the other into an Ethernet port on your router. The magic Jack plus can also be used by hooking it up to your computers USB port when you are away from home thus making it a fully portable telephone line. From a users standpoint your phone line is no different than a regular landline. Behind the scenes magic Jack is a VoIP provider which means that your calls are sent over the Internet as opposed to through actual telephone lines.  .

The magicJack Plus comes with several improvements geared at enhancing its call quality. These two improvements are HD voice which is suppose to make sound quality more clear and Echo Control which has been implemented to help reduce echoing that is a problem with the regular magic Jack.

MagicJack Plus VoIP Phone User Reviews, 3.0 out of 5 based on 169 ratings

Leave a Review

Rate This Item

14 Reviews

Leave A Review
  1. Zackry Cephas says
    October 14, 2011, 9:05 pm

    I just got my MagicJack Plus. Works great! I really don’t know what to say that hasn’t already been said before. If you’ve used and liked the original, then expect the same results with this newer version.

    My #1 reason for upgrading was because I use my Magicjack for business. I have a laptop and it runs multiple programs all day. Even with 4gb Ram, trying to batch process hundreds of hi-res images with Photoshop/ Illustrator/ Indesign, multiple Firefox tabs, and itunes takes its toll on the CPU. Also, the original Magicjack is so wide that I can’t plug anything else into the USB ports. Now, my laptop has one less program to worry about, and I can shut it down at night and I still get my calls.

    Reply
  2. Fred says
    November 23, 2011, 8:05 pm

    I have been using MagicJack Plus for about a month, and I am very impressed so far. I had a lot of questions about this device, and I will try to answer those questions for others who are interested in saving money on their phone service. Here are my answers based on my experience.

    Does it work? It really works. After you register by plugging it into your computer USB port, you just plug in your router, power, and phone.

    How is the sound quality? It is about half way between a cell phone and a regular land line. Sometimes I briefly hear some low volume static after talking, and some people say my voice sounds slightly synthesized. There is also a slight delay.

    How many phones can it support? I activated the phone wiring in my house and plugged in 3 cordless phones, and they all worked. If you do this, be sure to disconnect the phone wire that comes in from the phone company. Cordless phones provide their own power, so they are not much of a drain on the MagicJack power. Other reviews have said that only 1 to 2 corded phones can be supported. The easiest and best way to hook up your phones is to use a DECT phone system. I love the Panasonic KX-TG6645B system.

    Can it fax? I tested it using my computer fax modem, and it works!

    Can I transfer my old phone number? After you set up MagicJack with a temporary phone number, you can request that your old number be transferred to your MagicJack service for a $20 fee. This will cancel your old phone service. Do NOT cancel your old phone service yourself before the number is transferred.

    How does the voicemail work? After 4 rings, a call can be either transferred to another number, or it can be sent to voice mail. If you want to use an answering machine, you have to set it for 3 rings. 3 rings does not give you much time to answer the phone, but you can leave a long answering machine greeting, and you can always pick up during the greeting. MagicJack voice mail will leave a notification on newer phones. The voice mail will also send the message as a WAV file to 1 e-mail address. I wanted the e-mail sent to multiple e-mail addresses, so I created a dummy e-mail address on my ISP. I set the dummy e-mail account to automatically forward incoming messages from MagicJack to multiple addresses.

    How does international calling work? You must pre-pay for international calling. Most countries are $.02 per minute. The normal international phone number is all you need to dial. Calls to China have been working better than they did with my last phone company.

    How is the customer service? There basically is none. But if you can use a computer and hook up a router, you should have no trouble getting MagicJack working.

    Why are there so many complaints? I would guess that many of the problems people have had in the past are related to the use of the USB connection. That adds an extra layer of software and data conversion to give problems. MagicJack Plus should solve the USB problems because it can connect directly to the router. MagicJack needs a good, steady internet connection to work properly. Minor problems with an ISP might not affect the browsing of web pages, but they will affect a real time phone connection.

    Reply
  3. Ahmed says
    January 16, 2012, 8:09 am

    PRO:
    1 It works with or without a computer
    2 Call quality is far better than the original MagicJack
    3 Following features are included
    voice-mail
    Call Waiting
    Caller ID

    CONS:
    Its now $29.99/year (or $100 for 5 years)
    There is no customer service

    Bottom line:
    Buy Magicjack Plus if you have a fast and reliable internet connection

    Reply
  4. Bob says
    January 26, 2012, 1:06 pm

    I am currently having no success with the MJ+. Running it through a Linksys WTR54G wireless router and I can not get the thing to terminate a call and so I have to unplug the thing after every call to be able to use. This is so unlike the original MJ. I have been in online chats with support now for over 6 hours total and nothing they have had me try has corrected this issue. I am curious of those who are using it successfully what your thoughts are on this problem?

    Reply
    • John says
      January 27, 2012, 4:28 pm

      make sure you are not attempting to use two voip connections simultaneously. when I first tested mj+, I was also using vonage. the two devices tend to compete with each other as voip, and results were unsatisfactory.

      on a trial basis, I disconnected vonage and mj+ call quality was very good. This is not to say that vonaqge did not also provide good voip operations, but attempting to work the two together causes problems with both. I then decided to cancel vonage after two years of satisfactory voip services, and now rely totally on mj+..

      I am on Verizon FIOS, and receive quality voip services thru mj+, and a very satisfied customer…

      Reply
  5. JB says
    February 1, 2012, 9:17 am

    If you go to the magicjackplus website as of today, Feb. 1st (11am), the website states under the 30 Day Trial “After your 30 day trial, you can receive service for just $19.95 a year. That is right-A YEAR. That is less expensive than your taxes on your current phone bill for just one month. You can save over $1,000 a year. This is 30X less expensive than your home phone service now.” Based on conversations with their Customer Service reps, the cost is actually $29.95/year. After a lengthy discussion, they told me that this price is only if you buy their 5 year plan, then it’s only $99.75, or $19.95/year.

    Reply
  6. Chava says
    April 21, 2012, 4:08 pm

    Yes FREE CALLS IN THE US AND CANADA – ASIDE FOR SOME NUMBERS. Those numbers may be that of your parents or sister, like my experience. Ready to join me in suing them?

    Reply
  7. John says
    May 2, 2012, 4:31 pm

    I have been using MJ+ for about four months now, and generally satisfied with it’s performance. The only significant problem I have observed is that it sometimes drops calls (more frequently between land line and cellular connections), although this happens only a small fraction of total use. Considering the benefit of not having monthly recurring phone service billing, these occasional dropped calls become very tolerable.

    For those of you who want to install a fax with MJ+, I have found that HP 2140 Fax Series works very well. I have my fax set up on a single line with one MJ+. Since I also have voice answering set up on my phone system to pick up after 4th ring, it becomes necessary to select “TEL” (telephone mode) on the fax, which requires a manual response from my end (lifting handset and pressing “start”), in order to receive incoming fax. This does require coordination with fax sender, but is not a problem just with occasional use. I can send a fax anytime, since total control of “send” operations are at my end. This works well for me, since I utilize fax only two or three times per year. All three operations, phone, call answering, and fax works very well on a single MJ+ connection.

    If you require frequent fax use (either send or receive), then I would recommend a second MJ+ with a unique number assigned for fax operation. I am not suggesting the HP 2140 is the only fax that may work with MJ+, but this model does work for me.

    I subscribe to Verizon FIOS (fiber), Voice quality from land line to land line is better than cellular connections. Overall, I am satisfied with MJ+ after four months of use, and would do it all over again..

    Hope this helps..

    John,
    Plano, Texas

    Reply
  8. Emory says
    June 19, 2012, 2:22 pm

    I have had the regular mj I use it as my office phone. For the most part it works well. I then got the mj+ to replace my vonage phone. The mj+ has okay voice quality but I cannot venture too far from the mj+. I have connected to a wireless phone system and that could be part of my problem. But I know people that also do that and for them it works fine. My mj+, drops calls constantly. I am just about ready to call it quits and go back to vonage. In my opinion, the mj+ sucks big time. I am very dissatisfied with it.

    Reply
  9. December 8, 2012, 12:52 pm

    magic jack is a good thing to use and you going to save money for you bill every month

    Reply
  10. teresa says
    January 14, 2013, 4:52 pm

    MJ PLUS had a 48hr special for existing customers @ 1/2off & I took the bait. It shipped quickly. I highly recommend but It’s not the easy 3 step set-up like they say on the box. When you go thru the process – it will ask you if you want a new number, port or replace your existing standard magic jack. I opted to replace my standard magic jack since I didn’t want another # & I still had several years left on my standard plan. Note – if you have $$ for foreign calls – it won’t XFR. Also if u decide u hate MJ+ U can’t use ur old MJ. You lose, you lose ur paid years, & make sure its within 30 days.
    Tip: u need current equipment-both phone & computer. My phone which worked fine with standard MJ purchased in 2008 – did NOT work with new MJ+.

    Reply
  11. Joel McColough says
    January 17, 2013, 12:13 am

    If your magic jack registered the first time you try, you’re in luck for a while. However it does not, you may as well toss it out. They put you “under review” for any number of stupid reasons and won’t allow you or anyone else to use that magic jack. I bought a “magic jack plus unit and was planning to switch to it at my next renewal. My son bought one to use as his main service for his first home. When we tried to register his unit, we used his credit card, which still had his old address on it. This happened on Aug 4th, 2012. After spending hours on a “chat” with their customer service, we determined that the credit card was the problem. We then tried another credit card and still could not get it registered. Magic Jack customer service said they would “put in a ticket” and the responsible department would send us an email. A week went by and nothing, so I contacted them by “chat” again. (there may have been other “chats” but so much time has passed that I don’t remember everything) After getting absolutely nowhere again after spending a long time on this chat, they again said they would “put in a ticket” and the responsible department would send us an email. So I used my magic jack that I had bought to use myself. Possibly because we used the same email address or physical address, they put that one “under review” as well. Fast forward to now, 13 weeks later. I have had many, many “chats” with them, spent countless hours trying to get my magic jacks working, and have now come to the conclusion that it will never happen. I live in Canada and have found a Canadian alternative that provides a much better deal, with no hassles and live bodies to talk to. I bought a Grandview HT502 off the internet for $45.00 (included shipping and taxes), then paid $50.00 plus tax for some coding from freephoneline, and now I pay nothing ever again except 2 cents per minute for US long distance and any remote area of Canada not served by the main phone companies. I doubt I’ll ever pay more than a few bucks a year for that. In addition, the sound quality is better, you can even use it for fax and modem calls and the company has been around for many years. NO MORE BILLS AT ALL and great customer service. (had to use it during setup)

    For the people in the US, the best alternative I have found is netTalk DUO. Basically same as Magic Jack, but they have good reviews and live people to “talk” to. I suspect that Magic Jack will be out of business soon. They are really pushing the 5 year package hard, so I suspect they will get as much money in as possible, then leave their customers high and dry. I recommended them to many people and got them setup, but will now be changing them over. I would not trust magic jack. We tried to return the second unit to Tiger Direct, but they will not accept returns for Magic Jack. Anything else they will, but not Magic Jack. Does that tell you something? 13 weeks now and not one email for either unit! New! Just found out that people in the US can use google voice with an OBItalk unit for a FREE phone line that is much better than Magic Jack. Still free US and Canada calling and amazing call handling. No yearly fees at all.

    You can even port your number to Google voice. I complained to BBB and Magic Jack still has not sent me an email. As I write this last bit it is Jan 17th 2013. I tried to register the Magic Jacks on Aug 4th 2012. They STILL have not sent me an email. However they did respond to the BBB. I will send you a copy of the BBB report if you like. The last company in the world I would deal with is now Magic Jack!

    Reply
    • Charlie Heup says
      February 7, 2013, 6:02 pm

      I’d be interested in the BBB report you had on Magic Jack Plus

      Thnaks.

      Reply
  12. MC says
    March 20, 2013, 6:50 pm

    Not very pleased with MJ plus. My old MJ worked well with good sound but when it was time for a replacement I went to the MJ+ and have had nothing but problems. Volume resets in the menu for handset to low and when a call comes in and I answer the party can hear me but I can’t hear them. Your faced with looking at the number and calling them back it seems to work well on outgoing calls only. I has recently started dropping calls now and I think it’s days are numbered, won’t make the mistake of buying an MJ plus again.

    Reply